“He’s seven and wants a fighting game?”

June 5, 2007

Store: EB Games
Location: Atlanta, GA
Employee: Dumb_ss
Submitted By: Gator

I’m in the store checking out NBA Street Vol.3 and the Mario All-Stars. This woman, we’ll call her MILF, walks in and has the following exchange with the clerk (Dumb_ss or DA for short):

MILF: “I’d like to buy a Valentine’s Day present for my son. He has a Playstation 2.”
DA: “Ummm… ok…. do you know what type of game he wants, or what types of games he already has?”
MILF: “Oh… yeah. He said he wants a ‘fighting game.’ I don’t really know what that means though. All he has right now is sports games like football and basketball.”
DA: “Ok… a fighting game… let’s see what we have…”
MILF: “Well… my problem is that my son is only 7. I really don’t want to get him something with lots of blood and weapons”
DA: (look of bewilderment) “7??? He’s 7 and he wants a fighting game?”
MILF: (sheepishly) “Yeah… I know. Do you have a game that has cartoon type violence? He likes Batman… is there a Batman fighting game?”
DA: “No…. there’s no batman fighting game… let’s see… (scans the shelf) well, i’ll tell you what my favorite fighting game is… (picks up a box) It’s called “Dead or Alive” … now, a lot of people like Tekken or Virtua Fighter, but I think DoA is the best fighting game out there.”
MILF: (looking at the box, slightly freaked out) “Uh… this isn’t exactly what i had in mind”

I couldn’t believe it. Here’s this guy who at one instance acts as if he is shocked & appalled that the lady would buy a fighting game for her 7 year old son, and then the next instant he’s recommending a game that is probably one of the least age appropriate.

I almost jumped in and told the lady to buy her kid a gamecube with SSBM or at least Marvel vs. Capcom for the PS2…. I can’t understand what was going through that guy’s head. I think they finally settled on a WWE game.

One Response to ““He’s seven and wants a fighting game?””

  1. skytso Says:

    Oh god, please don’t hesitate on those impulses to jump right in! If anybody is stupid enough to recommend DoA to a parent looking for a game for her kid please say something.

    At my store we have regulars who are cool enough about talking to people that they get confused with employees. If you ever overhear something and almost jump in to say something, do it. You’ll either come out with a happy ending to the story, or get a response from the employee that is hilarious enough to post on here.


Leave a Reply

