Forced Pre-Order

June 9, 2007

Store: GameStop
Location: Chicago, IL on Cermak
Employee Description: Tall Chubby Dude
Submitted By: elberto

So Pokemon Diamond and Pearl had just come out a few days earlier and are
supposed to be amazing. I’ve played all the main Pokemon games and decided
why not get Diamond? I also didn’t have a DS so I thought I’d just buy both the game and system.

I walk into the store:”You guys have anymore DS lites?” “Yeah here you go.”
“Could I also get Pokemon Diamond?” “Yeah you see the thing is I can’t sell
you Pokemon if you don’t reserve a game. Any game will do, any accessory,
just five dollars. Okay lemme just ring you up…”

The employee tried to go ahead and ring me up until I stopped him. I kept
saying no and no yet he continued. He finally stopped when I told him I
didn’t want the game anymore. He then tried to ring up the DS. I stopped
him again there. I left and decided to go to a Target store nearby. Wham,
bam and I currently have 60 pokemon and counting.

One Response to “Forced Pre-Order”

  1. David Says:

    I really don’t understand employees like this. There’s no reason to not sell a game, especially with a system. It helps with sell-thru rates and attachment rates, both of which actually matter to industry experts. It boggles my mind that people can get so caught up on reserves, even to the point that it affects sales. The point of reserves is that people buy games. If people aren’t buying games because of employees pushing reserves, they probably shouldn’t put so much emphasis on them.


Leave a Reply

