Halo 3, NOW WITH BETTER GRAPHICS!

June 9, 2007

Store: GameStop
Location: New York City, New York in Greenwich Village
Employee Description: Employee in HD
Submitted By: Mike Drucker

I’m not entirely against pre-orders. Sometimes they let me get my hands on a game and lay down the money while I have it.

But tell me if you’ve heard this one, because it lost GameStop my business for a long while.

“I’d like to pre-order Halo 3.”

“Great. What edition?”

“Oh, I don’t know, just regular.”

“Really? You’re going to reserve just regular?”

(Beat.)

“Yeah.”

“You know the champion edition* comes with a helmet.”

“I… I don’t have anywhere to put a space helmet.”

“It’s a collector’s item.”

“I don’t collect space helmets.”

“And it has better graphics.”

“I don’t think that’s…”

“No, it is. The regular edition comes only in standard. The special editions are HD. If you buy the regular edition, you’re missing out on half the game.”

“You know what? I’m going to pass on that pre-order.”

*the employee called it Champion instead of Legendary

One Response to “Halo 3, NOW WITH BETTER GRAPHICS!”

  1. David Says:

    I love it when people try to act all knowing or pull some kind of serious crap to get people to pre-order. It’s especially good because they don’t actually get anything for you reserving the specially edition. There’s no incentive, there’s no special contest… they don’t even weight it differently then a normal reserve when tracking percentages and such.


Leave a Reply

