What the hell is EDTV??

June 11, 2007

Store: GameStop
Location: Buckland Hills Mall in Manchester, CT
Employee Description: I don’t remember, but not Thor…
Submitted By: Nick Utter

GameStop employees have to be aware of all things video game, I suppose. That can be tough in this broadband/HD/audiophile world. I actually involved myself in this conversation briefly. In short, a customer and an employee got in a conversation around televisions (as the 360 had just launched and the PS3 was believed to be just around the corner). The employee assured the customer that any TV with “Red/Green/Blue” (Component) cables in the back, was HD. It doesn’t matter if the manufacturer says it’s HD, HD Ready, or an HD Monitor; if it has spots for those cables it’s HD.

I hopped in explaining the difference between HDTVs, and HD Ready sets. I noted the existence of EDTV and that even some SDTVs had these inputs. I lost them at EDTV, I suppose. Sure, they were dying at the time, but the employee just started laughing and asking what the hell EDTV was. I let the customer know that I stand by what I said, but he was going to stick with the guy with the cash register and believe that his 4:3 set was an HDTV based on the video inputs.

One Response to “What the hell is EDTV??”

  1. sackofwallnuts Says:

    Theres the Red Green Blue inputs behind my tv, but I know for a fact I don’t have an HDTV. When those hookups are on SDTV’s their intended for digital cable. EDTV’s have them too, but I don’t think the picture is all that great.


Leave a Reply

