OBJECTION!!!

June 26, 2007

Store: GameStop
Location: Woodbury, Minnesota
Employee Description: Overweight Slacker and his Manager
Submitted by: The Almost Penguin

I walk into this GameStop on a mission for Phoenix Wright (the original). Someone told me it was in the bargain bin, and I needed to buy it for a friend’s birthday. So I walk in and begin looking through the bin. The guy behind the counter asks me what I’m searching for and I respond “Phoenix Wright, do you know if you have any copies of it”.

He tells me that the computer says they have one more. At that point, the manager begins to help me look for it. The manager finds the game behind the counter, in it’s trade in case, and continues to search for it’s case: aka the case that says “new”.

Finally he finds the case and gives it to his cashier lackey. The cashier takes this opportunity to inform me that the third one is coming out, and asks me if I’d like to pre-order. I respond no, I’m only buying the first game, wouldn’t I logically want the second game next, not the third? He waits a moment, and I bring up the price discrepancy. The bargain bin says 9.99, and he’s telling me 21.99. The manager replies with “9.99 and up”. Ok fine. I point out they’re selling me a used copy of the game for the new price. The manager replies that it is not used, only held back there for safe keeping.

At this point I’m tempted to walk out without the game because the cartridge has marks on it, from a marker, making it used. But I bite my tongue, cause my friend wants the game, and it is 10 bucks cheaper. The cashier then speaks up “I really don’t know why you’re not pre-ordering the third one”. I interrupt him with “Listen. I’m not pre-ordering from you. I know you have no interest in me, instead only in getting the pre-order because you are paid on commission.”

The cashier “That’s a common misconception, if I don’t sell pre-orders I lose my job.”

Followed by the awkward shouts of the manager behind him “YEAH BUT IT’S FUN! Isn’t it fun! Fun work environment! Fun Fun Fun!!!”

The cashier doesn’t say anything else to me, and I leave with my game.

2 Responses to “OBJECTION!!!”

  1. Nathan Smart Says:

    I don’t know why, but I’m creeped out by this one.

  2. shipley Says:

    a fun work environment is making enough money to buy games for your time off, and not living in fear of your manager.


Leave a Reply

