Store after Store after Store after…

June 29, 2007

16 Responses to “Store after Store after Store after…”

  1. daverudden Says:

    Uh, this guy is a moron:
    -He says he “doesn’t want to cheat anybody,” yet his entire video is how he’s trying to return new games without a receipt for more money than he paid for them.
    -His own stupid assumption was what cost him forty bucks. If someone says $45, they mean $45. Do you really think GameStop–or any other business interested in making a profit–is going to buy back a game for that close a price to its full retail value? GameStop, a company that keeps its ear as close to the ground regarding game values, is going to give a trade-in value higher than what Target is selling it for.

    I worked at GameStop for five years and I knew a few people behind the counter who were less than honorable. You have to remember, though, that there are people like this guy on the other side too.

  2. jbourrie Says:

    Now I don’t entirely understand why this video was posted here. Are we supposed to be bothered by the fact that stores don’t want douchebags like this taking advantage of their return policy? Or are we supposed to laugh at the fact that he’s so damned smug when he says “I’m not trying to rip anybody off” right in the middle of trying to rip off Wal-Mart?

    This guy tried to get free money, and he got burned. Good, eff him, I hope he hates both of those games. People like this are the reason stores stopped returning things without a reciept, in turn screwing the legitimate customer who just happened to throw his reciept away. A stores purpose is to make money, not to be your personal trading post for grey-market games.

  3. Nathan Smart Says:

    I posted it so that guys like you can refute it.

    I want this to be a free exchange of ideas – thanks for commenting!

  4. jbourrie Says:

    I guess that makes sense… in a twisted sort of way 🙂

    It’s kind of the opposite of a “Pre-Order Pusher” at that point. Instead of a store attempting to screw the customer, it’s a customer attempting to pull the wool over the employees eyes.

    Glad to see none of them fell for it.

  5. yusaku Says:

    If the games were truly ‘sealed’, he would have been allowed to return them at any of the Wal-mart stores here.

    Their 360 game sales are through the roof right now, the games would have sold no problem, but if not, their return credit would have covered them.

    You all seem to be forgetting that the store would be receiving merchandise that they didn’t have to pay for the first time, so a sale of that merchandise is a profit for them.

    Once he opened the games, however, he’s stuck with them.

    When I worked at Wal-mart, I (And other employees) played what is known as the ‘Red market’.

    Basically: Travel to another Wal-mart location, browse the red tag shelf in their Electronics Dept., buy something expensive, like a hard drive or an external DVD±RW, find a store where the item is NOT red tagged, and return it there for full price.

    If you all feel that this is cheating the company, then I apologize for trying to supplement my meager wages.

  6. techmoments Says:

    This guy is such an idiot. And not only do I question why it was posted, but why he even bothered making this video??? Welcome to 2007 buddy, no returns or exchanges for free anymore. I don’t mind him trying to return these games at retail stores. But, he paid more in gas money driving around to Targets, Walmart, etc then he saved. He got what he deserved in the end. He should have flipped them on half.com or ebay or something if he didn’t want then.

  7. shipley Says:

    a couple years ago, I won a copy of Mario & Luigi Superstar Saga on GBA in a mario kart tournament at an anime con. Since I already had the game and it was still sealed, I took it a Target and got store credit for another game. No questions asked, no problems.

    just a few months ago I got some transformers sealed in a trade and took them back to Walmart and got full store credit for them.

    I made this video. I didn’t make it for this site, but when I saw you taking submissions for game store stories, I figured it wouldn’t kill me. not that admitted to being a narcissistic video blogger is going to improve my worth to anyone already declaring me a moron and rip-off artist… but the intent was never to make me look like I was screwing anyone, nor was I getting screwed. I made a dumb choice getting in on this and paid the price. As I said in the video: Lesson learned, you can’t return crap without a receipt anymore, even thought I used to do it ALL THE TIME.

    I maintain that I wasn’t trying to rip anyone off. After all, the games were sealed and still in the box, so its not like I opened them or replaced them with counterfeits.

    as Yusaku mentioned, “red market” is really common. So common in this area that I guess all of these stores recently switched their return policies. I was aware of Gamestop’s stance from the get go, the clerk in question just never made it clear of the actual trade in value until he handed my receipt to me, and THATS why I submitted this.

    I still don’t see why wanting to get full value for a new, unused, sealed item makes me some kind of less than moral person. But what do I know? I’m a car salesman.

    PS- I like Rainbox 6 and I’m keeping it.

  8. David Says:

    It’s called social engineering and you can use it to get all sorts of stuff free. Nothing new, not really honest, but nothing that I haven’t tried myself.

  9. blinkman987 Says:

    QUOTE
    Basically: Travel to another Wal-mart location, browse the red tag shelf in their Electronics Dept., buy something expensive, like a hard drive or an external DVD±RW, find a store where the item is NOT red tagged, and return it there for full price.

    If you all feel that this is cheating the company, then I apologize for trying to supplement my meager wages.
    QUOTE

    You’re sorry for intentionally exploting your company’s system? Part of the deal with America is that you have the freedom to GO WORK SOMEWHERE ELSE, so no, you’re not forced to suppelement your “meager wages” through doing that. That’s not an excuse. OH POOR YOU! YOU WORK FOR WAL-MART! DAMN, IF ONLY YOU COULD GET OUT OF WAL-MART AND WORK SOMEWHERE ELSE, CUZ YOU KNOW THEY HAVE YOU CHAINED TO A ROCK AND WON’T LET YOU LEAVE, RIGHT?!?!

    What people will do and justify in their head so they don’t feel guilt over doing something they know isn’t illegal, but isn’t right either…

    As for the guy on the video… lolololol owned. I enjoyed the pause after you say “I’m not trying to cheat anybody” because you know you’re full of crap. If you’re going to do grey-area shady dealings, at least don’t try to validate it to yourself.

  10. dirtmound Says:

    This guy got what he deserved. End of story.

  11. shipley Says:

    Ok since everyone wants to call me on the “i’m not trying to cheat anybody comment” I’d like some kind of example of WHO I’m supposedly trying to cheat.

    The craigslist guy? he got exactly what he asked for.
    the stores? they get off inventory product they can still sell brand new.

    honestly, I really don’t see how I’m getting “what I deserve”

  12. jbourrie Says:

    The “Usual” Way:
    Wal-Mart buys a game from the distributor for $40, sells it for $50. Wal-Mart makes a $10 profit, minus any costs incurred via the sales transaction (VISA fees, shelf space, bookkeeping, cashier wages, etc).

    The “Shipley” Way:
    Wal-Mart buys a game from shipley for $50, then sells it back to customers for $50. No profit made, and any costs incurred are eaten by Wal-Mart corporate.

    How is this NOT cheating their return policy?

  13. shipley Says:

    Everyone whines and complains when EB/gamestop screws them; try to screw back a little and I’m the asshole at the bar.

  14. jbourrie Says:

    Yep. Pretty much.

    Here’s the thing: most people aren’t just pissed at GameStop because it’s a big corporation. We’re pissed at GameStop because they intentionally mislead customers, have a number of corporate policies which are directly anti-customer, and have little to no new-employee training (instead relying on those employees to take home product to play, and then bring it back to sell as NEW).

    We’re pissed at their actions, and are equally pissed at any bullshit hypocritical two-faced actions that any company or entity takes. So when you take actions that are equally malicious, no matter who they are directed at, I will take offense to it. Not so much that I’m going to get my panties in a bunch (um… strike that… extremely masculine manly pants!), but certainly enough that I’m going to call shenanigans 🙂

    I appreciate that your tone has changed a bit (“I wasn’t trying to rip anyone off” has become the more accurate “try to screw back a little”). That’s the first step toward realizing there is no such thing as free money… if you get it for “free”, that means somebody else paid for it.

  15. raste Says:

    But what do I know? I’m a car salesman.

    Well, now you know that Karma’s a b!tch.

  16. dirtmound Says:

    You got what you deserved because you were trying to cheat them. 2 wrongs don’t make a right.

    “the stores? they get off inventory product they can still sell brand new.

    honestly, I really don’t see how I’m getting “what I deserve””

    It’s not their inventory to sell new. They ordered their copies. You aren’t a part of that system.


Leave a Reply

