Rated A for *ss

July 15, 2007

Store: GameStop
Location: Randall Square in Geneva, IL
Employee Description: Short and greasy, we’ll call him “Oil Slick” Apparently he was/is the store manager
Submitted By: Scott Kaufmann

To set the tone, I’ll describe why I went to this store in the first place. I had been going to a very cool, roomy EB Games for 3 years and knew everyone that worked there. However, once the GameStop/EB Games merger occurred, it was clear the nice staff was soon to be history. I had to find a local store to switch to, and I couldn’t have picked a worse one.

I walk in with a couple of friends (I was 16 at the time) and check out a few things. While poking around, I hear Oil Slick try to get a young kid, who couldn’t have been over 9, to reserve Madden ’06. I thought that was odd but I continued to look. Finally I chose to get Counter-Strike for the Xbox. I bring it up to the counter and as Oil Slick is ringing it up he mumbles “…ggrum…18….”. I wasn’t sure what he said, but I heard 18 and I knew the game was recently dropped to $9.99 so I spoke up and said “I thought the game was 10 dollars, not 18”. Then out of nowhere he blurts out “I said are you EIGHTEEN? This game is rated M for Mature” Taken aback not only by his tone but also by him thinking I didn’t know what letter “Mature” started with. I hadn’t seen that it was M so I apologized and put it back. When I got back to the counter he asked if I wanted anything else and I said no. He then replied “THEN GET OUT OF MY F*CKING STORE!”. Stunned that he would say this with the same 9-year-old still in the store, I walked back to the car in utter shock.

It has been 2 years and I haven’t stepped foot in that store since, even though it is extremely close to my house. I instead do all of my video game business at a GameStop 60 miles away, near my old house before I moved. It really says something when you would rather travel 60 miles than go back to some place.

2 Responses to “Rated A for *ss”

  1. draculajones Says:

    60 miles? Really? You know they can deliver these things right to your house now…

  2. David Says:

    Ouch, troll burn…


Leave a Reply

