“On the house…”

July 21, 2007

Store: GameStop
Location: Fullerton, CA
Employee Description: Wise-ass Teenager
Submitted By: Rafael Hernandez

I went after work to GameStop to purchase the Final Fantasy IX strategy guide. The 2 teenagers behind the counter were constantly making stupid remarks to each other. I was browsing around the PS1 and N64 Games. I ask the teen, if he had any more copies of FF9 guide. He said “No”, then checked on his computer and said “no” again.

So I tell my sister lets check around. While browsing through I hear my sister find the guide. I tell the guy “I found what your computer couldn’t track…” He was acting shocked and he eyed his co-worker. I believe they were hiding it from the public so they could purchase it at the end of their shift. Or just being pricks, probably both.

So I go up and pull out my money. He starts looking around. He felt like a dumbass, so he says “I will give you the guide.” I tell him that’s funny, and to ring me up I have the money. He said “No, really it’s on the house… I am sorry for telling you it was not here.” I argued with him on money. I even showed the money to the camera and said “LET THE RECORD SHOW THIS EMPLOYEE IS GIVING ME THE BOOK, WHEN I OFFERED TO PAY!” Took the book and left. I further think it was the dude’s last day too.

3 Responses to ““On the house…””

  1. dirtmound Says:

    Often, when things are clearanced out of the system, they are to be gathered up and destroyed (thrown away). If you happen to find such an item, they often give it to you since it won’t ring up in the system ($0.00) and they are supposed to be out of the store anyway (so you proved that they haven’t been doing their jobs).

  2. David Says:

    Yup, we used to penny them out, so they were “sold” for a penny then just thrown away.

    I just love it when people want to save something… but don’t do anything with it. Like put it behind the counter or something.

  3. lowerhousemember Says:

    I’d just like to say that the FFIX guide is probably one of the worst guides I’ve ever seen, so I’m not surprised at all that they’d give it away for free.


Leave a Reply

