Reservation Tango

July 21, 2007

Store: GameStop
Location: San Bernardino, CA – Campus Crossroads
Employee Description: Tweedle Dum & Tweedle Dee
Submitted By: Silence7

I went in to to the GameStop at 2pm in the afternoon on a Sunday and the place was empty except for the two employees behind the counter and me. One employee greets me with a “how ya’ doin’ ” when I walk in and then leaves me alone to browse without interruption, which is a rare treat in this store.

Being as there are only three people in the store, and I don’t have anyone to talk to, the store is extremely quiet, which makes it very easy to hear the employees talking back and forth approximately 15 feet from me. There was some chatter about various games and that’s when my anger began.

Employee #1: Dude, you should have been here yesterday..
Employee #2: Why?
Employee #1: This guy came in and wanted to cancel 2 pre-orders and put a pre-order on another game.
Employee #2: Yeah…..
Employee #1: I asked him if he had a receipt, and he said no. So I told him he had to have a receipt to cancel a pre-order.
Employee #1 & 2: Hahah ahahaaaaaaa
Employee #2: Man, I’m gonna’ have to start using that one!
Employee #1 & 2: Hahaha hahaaaaaaa

I had pre-ordered 2 games at another EB a week earlier (voluntarily) and was told I could keep the receipt if I wanted but I didn’t need to because they had me in the computer and all I would need to pick up my games was my I.D.

Their evil laughs and *wink-wink* attitude leads me to believe that the policy of needing a receipt to cancel a pre-order is all a bunch of BS to keep people from canceling a pre-order.

If they talk this openly about their lying and cheating right in front a customer, it makes me wonder if they either don’t care, they think I’m too stupid to know WTF their talking about, or they didn’t think I could hear. Honestly I think it’s a combination of the three.

This EB is close to home and very convenient, but I have vowed to drive the extra distance to another that always treats me right if I need an immediate fix, and order games online if I can wait for delivery. At least stores online can’t lie to you right in your face.

I’ve been actively gaming since my parents bought us kids a home Pong machine before the Atari 2600 came out, and have owned almost every system since then (PS3 and NeoGeo excluded) and have seen a lot of crap, but in the last few years it just seems to be getting worse and worse as all the small game stores are being put out of business by the big chain stores.

You guys are doing a great service by exposing the BS that goes on in these places.

Leave a Reply

