Pre-Order Piracy

August 12, 2007

Store: EB Games
Location: Invercargill, New Zealand
Employee Description: It was a woman. Sounded fairly knowledgeable about gaming, as you will encounter.
Submitted By: beans

I was bored one day and decided to step into the local EB Games and see what was new there (which usually isn’t much, since it’s a fairly small store which services a population of about 90,000).

The clerk at the counter recognized me and said we went to primary school together many years ago. However, I have a selective memory and trying to remember names from 15 odd years ago is hard to come by. Even her name tag didn’t give me any clues.

So I decided to change the subject. I picked up a pre-order case of Pokémon Diamond and asked her how the pre-orders were going (this was June/July – the game didn’t come out here till recently). She beamed at me and said very well – they had enough to justify doing a midnight launch (I don’t know if they actually went ahead with that or not).

Putting the box down, I went over to her and we just started talking about the game – I ordered my copy online from Canada back in May and was halfway through it. She leaned over to me, looked around cautiously (we were the only two people in the building) and whispered…

“I downloaded my copy and put it on a flash cart.”

2 Responses to “Pre-Order Piracy”

  1. nicholasfarseer Says:

    wow… that was balsy. Piracy is an offense punished by instant termination at GS if my memory serves me right…

    But, on the other hand, it doesn’t look like she really needs the game check-out incentive. 🙂

  2. David Says:

    I don’t know if piracy is actually on the books yet, but I wouldn’t doubt a manager or district manager firing an employee who said something like that. I really don’t understand people who don’t know enough to keep their mouth shut about illegal stuff they do while working.


Leave a Reply

