Clarification (General Rebuttal)

August 26, 2007

Submitted By: Anonymous

Hello. I am an employee of said “evil corporation” and I just wanted to send a rebuttal on the hopes that maybe you would post it so the people that hate us can see.

I’ll start off by saying, yes, this company is extremely monopolizing, and yes, many of their practices suck. Having said that, I have worked for the company for nearly four years, since I was a little sopohomore in high school and now I am assistant manager at my store. I have mostly been treated fairly and never really have I had any times when I thought the company was really hammering nails up my *ss (there have been days where it felt so, but overall, no).

I have read many of the posts on the site, and sadly, I know many of them to be true, and have witnessed it myself in many other stores. But guess what, I have barely seen any posts talking about GOOD stores, or nice people. It’s always “mean nickname” did this, or “nerdy teen with pimples” said that. You know what, my store hasnt done half the sh*t that we as a whole get slammed for on here. Yep, I ask if you wanna pre-order a game – if you say no, I may ask you once more if you’re sure and then move on to something else. I’m not mean about it, I try to keep it as friendly as possible and I get on with my day. AND, when the games come in, I find out how many are reserved and set THAT EXACT amount (sealed, mind you) in the back counter until you can come to get it. Now obviously I cant hold it forever back there – I can only hold it for 48 hours. But for most games (especially lesser known games) I’ll keep it back there for nearly a week. That’s a pretty good chunk of time to hold it, especially since my DM would probably have my *ss for not selling it right away. Hmmm. Isn’t that just nice of me.

And the subscription we offer is a good deal. You’re getting a very good magazine for a year for fifteen bucks, and if you happen to buy a used game, you save a few dollars. If you dont want it, just say no. I’ll leave you alone. I’m sorry if I ask you again the next time you come into the store and you say no. I ask everybody, it’s my job. It isn’t my job to remember EVERY person who comes to the store. I remember a lot of people, especially if they come in often. But I’m only a human being, I dont have a photographic memory and I apologize to you all for that.

I’m not asking anyone on this site to stop posting their stories about some of the idiots and racists who work for the company in some places (hell, I would most definitely want to hear about it if one of my employees is being a douche, so i could straighten it out) all that I am asking is for you to at least acknowledge the fact that there are a lot of great stores out there too, and that they will help you. And be nicer to some of our employees. Incessant name bashing and making fun of their appearance just isn’t right. Bash on their salesmanship all you want but these are people who dont know you personally. What makes you any better to trash people so unabashedly?

So in closing, yes, the company is a monopoly. Yes, there are many sh*tty stores out there. But there are a lot of good stores with good people too, and it sucks that they have to follow the crazy things GameStop tends to do, but they will help you as best as they possibly can. I know I would (unless you call me a lying motherf*cker to my face for sayin I would give you five dollars for a game three weeks ago, and now it has went down in price – prices fluctuate, look at gas – please don’t yell at me like that in my store or I will kick you out, I do have a limit). I would just like to see people posting something about the good service at a store for once, even if the company is killing competition. Thanks for taking the time to read this, hopefully anyway.

Leave me anonymous – you know why – even if I am a nice guy and great manager, they can still fire me for no reason, because that’s how the CORPORATE side works. But for the consumer all that matters (most of the time) is the sales floor and the people on it (unless GameStop pulls some bonehead pricing fiasco, in which case I’m sorry, but it’s out of my hands – please don’t yell at me).

Thanks.

3 Responses to “Clarification (General Rebuttal)”

  1. TheHeartlessHero Says:

    The reaason you don’t see good stories on this site is because thats not the point of it. It’s called preorder PUSHERS not “friendly happy-go lucky employee experiences” Other than that, you’ve pretty much said everything wee’ve known that it’s just corporate bossing it’s employees and some employees are stupid. It’s human nature.

    On a side note, gas =/= video games, once is considered a necessity and cheaper than the other. One is a hobby and indulgence.

  2. twistedtech Says:

    I wouldn’t go so far as saying that GameStop/EB Games has a monopoly. I do most of my business these days at a regional chain called Hastings which is sort of a Blockbuster Video meets GameStop meets Barnes & Nobles all rolled into one. The great thing about this place is they buy and sell used games, rent games, sale unopened new games, and if you want they will even reserve games for you (you have to ask though because they never push the pre-order). They take more of a Wal-Mart approach to customer service (if you don’t ask for customer service you won’t get any) which is actually refreshing after the BS I have put up with in the chain stores.

    “And the subscription we offer is a good deal. You’re getting a very good magazine…” filled with information that you read online weeks earlier. Seriously the internet has killed magazines especially for gamers who get better coverage and earlier coverage from the various gaming sites. Sure the magazine might have some exclusive information in it every now and then but even that gets posted to the web by someone before the magazine is even in most peoples hands. And that is for the months you actually get the magazine. In the year I had it I think I got six or seven of them.

    And hey if I ever visit a GS/EB and I actually get decent service then I might be so amazed that I will post about it.

  3. Rick C. Says:

    Service in general has gone downhill quite a bit in the last 10 years or so. When I get good service I reward the place that gave the good service with return visits where I will then spend more money.

    I think the major problem with Gamestop/EB is that employees are treated the same as burger flippers by the management, and by management I don’t necessarily mean store management, I mean upper management. Pay is low, employees are young, and turnover is high. I have an EB literally blocks away from my house that I will no longer go to because of the attitudes I have witnessed there.

    The Gamestop that is out of my way to go to gets my business because their team actually seems to be a team, always the same people, they recognize me when I come in, and treat me civil. Sure they ask about reservations and subs to which I decline, and that’s that, no hassling. They’ve done their job and I respect that.

    I really don’t know what kind of training employees at either store get, but I’m sure it’s the regular this is how you stock, this is how the register works, greet the customer when he/she comes in etc.

    When working with the public there needs to also be a code of conduct for employees. No talking badly about the company, off color jokes, cell phone use, joking about past customers, etc etc. It’s just common courtesy. Yet chances are high that when I go into a random GS/EB I will witness some, if not all of these activity’s. Four young guys working in a game store, what do you expect? I expect them to be trained to do their jobs professionally.

    To most people dropping $50-$60 on a game is not an easy purchase, they’ve waited sometimes years for THE game to finally come out, they’ve headed out early to go pick up THE game, only to be treated badly once in the store. It’s not pleasant, nor does it add to the experience of finally getting the game you’ve waited so long for.


Leave a Reply

